Operation Backlog Completion 2024
Jun 272022
 

So Nintendo finally announced the next Nintendo Direct, but since we have another cluster of game showcases, I decided to consider this separate from the Not-E3 events instead of continuing them.

(It would be confusing to call this Not-E3 Round 2, though.)

Nintendo announced a Nintendo Direct Mini for tomorrow at 6 AM PT / 9 AM ET. It is a Partner Showcase about upcoming third-party games.

So… not exactly the general Direct we were hoping for, but Partner Showcases can still include great announcements. (In retrospect, maybe I should have included Sony’s third-party showcase as part of Not-E3 after all.) I hope Bayonetta 3 is considered to be third-party, since a release date is still one of the main things I want announced.

Meanwhile, I will once again hope for Ace Attorney news!

The next day, on June 29, Square Enix is holding a broadcast about Star Ocean: The Divine Force at 4 AM PT / 7 AM ET, but I think will only be in Japanese, so I’ll wait until the details are translated.

Then when the weekend comes, Anime Expo 2022 begins. So far, three video game companies have announced Anime Expo 2022 showcases. Bandai Namco’s will be on July 1 at 8:30 PM PT / 11:30 PM ET, Aksys Games has a showcase on July 2 at 2:45 PM PT / 5:45 PM ET, and Spike Chunsoft follows on July 2 at 5:45 PM PT / 8:45 PM ET.

In the middle of the Anime Expo events, Square Enix will also have another broadcast, a DioField Chronicle live stream on July 2 at 4 AM PT / 7 AM ET.

All of those could potentially have exciting news, so I’m looking forward to them!

Which of these upcoming events are you most interested in? What announcements do you hope to see?

---
If you want posts like this delivered straight to your inbox, enter your email in the box below to subscribe!

  4 Responses to “Summer 2022 Game Showcases Round 2”

  1. I’m assuming the Nintendo Direct Mini Partners Showcase will be when we finally get the “come back in June” Dragon Quest news we were told to expect a month ago.

    I mean… June ends before the end of this week, so there’s very few other opportunities to work with!

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>