Operation Backlog Completion 2024
Sep 132023
 

A Nintendo Direct has been announced for tomorrow, after being widely expected to happen sometime this week.

Nintendo often holds a Direct around this time of year, especially since that means new games announced at the Direct can be shown at TGS (which begins next week).

This Nintendo Direct will be 40 minutes long and focus on games coming out this winter. Of course, while that’s the Direct’s focus, wording it that way often means they’ll also included a handful of announcements outside of that timeframe.

A few things have been leaked, including one that will make me happy if it’s true, but with 40 minutes to fill, I hope they have some exciting surprises in store. I expect we’ll hear more about some of the games announced in the previous Direct, like the untitled Princess Peach game, and maybe the Baten Kaitos remastered collection since it’s actually out tomorrow.

Of course, I’d be delighted if anything from my list of TGS hopes made an appearance.

(Fatal Frame VI? Anyone?)

While there are also plenty of rumors around about the Switch’s successor, I don’t think they’d include an announcement that big in a regular Nintendo Direct like this. That feels more likely to get a special announcement sometime next year, while this will focus on Switch games ahead of the holidays.

Maybe my dreams will come true and they’ll announce a Xenoblade Chronicles X remaster. Either way, I have my fingers crossed for exciting trailers.

What do you think will be announced at tomorrow’s Nintendo Direct?

---
If you want posts like this delivered straight to your inbox, enter your email in the box below to subscribe!

Jun 072021
 

The weekend saw a couple of additional gaming events that I’ll cover briefly here, but first let’s take a look at the E3 2021 (and related events) schedule! There are still a few unknowns, but we can fill those in as we go. I’m also counting Summer Game Fest as part of this coverage, since it’s right ahead of the main E3 events.

E3 2021 Schedule

June 10
Summer Game Fest 2021 – 11 AM PT / 2 PM ET

June 11
Koch Primetime – 12 PM PT / 3 PM ET
IGN Expo Livestream – 1 PM PT / 4 PM ET

June 12
Guerrilla Collective Day 2 – 8 AM PT / 11 AM ET
Wholesome Direct 2021 – 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET
Ubisoft Forward – 12 PM PT / 3 PM ET
Devolver Forwarder – 1:30 PM PT / 4:30 PM ET
Gearbox Entertainment – 2:00 PM PT / 5:00 PM ET

June 13
Xbox & Bethesda Games Showcase – 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET
Square Enix Presents – 12:15 PM PT / 3:15 PM ET
PC Gaming Show – 2:30 PM PT / 5:30 PM ET
Future Games Show – 4 PM PT / 7 PM ET

June 14
Limited Run Games – 1 PM PT / 4 PM ET
Capcom – 2:30 PM PT / 5:30 PM ET

June 15
Nintendo Direct – 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET
Bandai Namco – 2:25 PM PT / 5:25 PM ET

EA Live will be held on July 22. There’s still no indication of Sony’s plans.

Weekend Highlights

But ahead of E3, we also had a couple of indie-focused showcases over the weekend! Indie Live Expo returned with some intriguing indie games, including a new trailer for The Good Life, which has been delayed to fall.

(However, the performance looks much better in this trailer than in the previous one.)

Others that look intriguing include an RPG called iii: Revolving Wonderland and a 2D sidescrolling RPG called Lost Epic. fault – milestone two side: below also got a September release window.

After that, the Guerrilla Collective held its Day 1 live stream (which is why only Day 2 is part of the E3 schedule). Highlights for me were another look at the cosmic horror roguelike Source of Madness, another side-scrolling Lovecraftian action game called Elderand, and the photography game Beasts of Maravilla Island.

So we’re off to a good start to the E3 season with some promising indies, and we have many E3 shows and presentations to look forward to. I’ll be covering them all, as usual, and I’ll update this schedule if anything changes or gets updated.

What are you looking forward to the most?

---
If you want posts like this delivered straight to your inbox, enter your email in the box below to subscribe!

May 022018
 

I’ve made a few more changes to improve navigation on the site and make it less cluttered.

First, I removed the “Reviews” menu option. It felt out of place with the others, especially since any review will include the category link.

Next, I changed the “Home” menu option to “Blog,” to make it clearer that it’s the link to my blog (and that the “Books” and “Games” options don’t lead to blog posts).

Third, I realized the social media icons inviting you to share the post displayed twice after each post. I fixed that.

Finally, it didn’t seem necessary to have two “subscribe” boxes. With one in the sidebar and one at the bottom of each post, you’d often end up seeing both at the same time. Therefore I removed the one from the sidebar, especially since it didn’t quite display right.

How do you feel about these changes? Are there other changes you’d like to see? Let me know in the comments!

---
If you want posts like this delivered straight to your inbox, enter your email in the box below to subscribe!